• Welcome to the Children’s Library

    Akron-Summit County Public Library
    60 South High Street
    Akron, OH 44326
    Monday - Thursday
    9 am - 9 pm
    9 am - 6 pm
    9 am - 5 pm
    1 pm - 5 pm
  • Advertisements

Coretta Scott King Awards


In addition to the Newbery and Caldecott Awards, there are a number of other important awards presented by the American Library Association annually.  The Coretta Scott King Awards’ description and list of 2010 winners that follow are taken from The American Library Association website.

 “Designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace, the Coretta Scott King Book Awards annually recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience.  Further, the Award encourages the artistic expression of the black experience via literature and the graphic arts in biographical, social, and historical treatments by African American authors and illustrators.”

 Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults “Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshall,” written by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, is the King Author Book winner. The book is illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, published by Carolrhoda Books, a division of Lerner Publishing Group, Inc.

 One King Author Honor Book was selected: “Mare’s War” by Tanita S. Davis and published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

 Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book AwardMy People,” illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr., is the King Illustrator Book winner. The book was written by Langston Hughes and published by Ginee Seo books, Atheneum Books for Young Readers.

 One King Illustrator Honor Book was selected: “The Negro Speaks of Rivers,” illustrated by E. B. Lewis, written by Langston Hughes and published by Disney – Jump at the Sun Books, an imprint of Disney Book Group.

 Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award

The Rock and the River,” written by Kekla Magoon, is the Steptoe winner. The book is published by Aladdin, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division.

 Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement Walter Dean Myers is the winner of this first-ever Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement. The award pays tribute to the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton. Myers’ books include: “Amiri & Odette: A Love Story,” published by Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic; “Fallen Angels,” published by Scholastic Press; “Monster,” published by Amistad and HarperTeen, imprints of HarperCollins Publishers; and “Sunrise Over Fallujah,” published by Scholastic Press.


%d bloggers like this: